Developmental Milestones

Developmental milestones also known as baby milestones are the critical periods a child will go through in their first year of life.   These are considered prime times of opportunity where the child’s brain is developing at a rapid rate, searching for new information and experiences.

A babies development is is also cumulative, meaning that each milestone or stage builds on the progress of the previous one. Some of these milestones are easily recognisable skills that bring great joy to their parents, for example seeing a baby learn to roll then sit up, crawl and then walk.

Baby milestones are usually classified into the following categories:

  • motor milestones
  • language development milestones
  • social development in children
  • emotional development in children

Most babies will tend to follow the same path through these milestones. All children will develop at a different rate and babies will all spend different amounts of time within each stage. For all milestones there is a range of time that the child will develop the skill within.

Knowing more about these windows of opportunity is very important to both parents and professionals who work with children, and intervening and providing an educated positive influence at these stages can have a lasting effect on the child for the rest of their lives.

Sounds important…. we think it is, and the first 3 years are when a lot of this magic happens.

(Johnson 2012)

Coming soon

Developmental Milestones Chart

Learn more about each stage of  your child’s Developmental Milestones

  • 1 Month Milestones

  • 2 Month Milestones

  • 3 Month Milestones

  • 4 Month Milestones

  • 5 Month Milestones

  • 6 Month Milestones

  • 7 Month Milestones

  • 8 Month Milestones

  • 9 Month Milestones

  • 12 Month Milestones

  • 18 Month Milestones




(Johnson 2012)